The biographies of the IEEE Presidents are listed below.

The Presidents can be reached by sending an email to
To reach the IEEE Executive Director, send an email to

2021 IEEE President & CEO

2021 IEEE President and CEO Susan K. (Kathy) LandSusan K. (Kathy) Land

Susan K. (Kathy) Land is a Program Manager for the U.S. Department of Defense’s Missile Defense Agency. She has more than 30 years of industry experience in the application of software engineering methodologies, the management of information systems, and leadership of software development teams.

Kathy serves as the 2020-2022 IEEE Entrepreneurship Board of Directors liaison. Kathy served as the 2018 Vice President, IEEE Technical Activities. She also served two additional terms on the IEEE Board of Directors as Division VIII Director/Delegate in 2011 and 2012 and as Division V Director/Delegate in 2014 and 2015. She was President of the IEEE Computer Society in 2009. Kathy was a member of the IEEE-USA Board of Directors in 2013 and 2016.

Kathy has been an active member of the IEEE Standards Association for more than 20 years and served as the Computer Society Vice President for Standards in 2004. She was the recipient of the 2007 IEEE Standards Medallion.

An IEEE Fellow, Kathy is the author and co-author of a number of texts and publications supporting software engineering principles and the practical application of software process methodologies.

She is an IEEE-HKN member and IEEE Computer Society Richard E. Merwin Award recipient.

2021 IEEE Past President

2021 IEEE Past President Toshio FukudaToshio Fukuda

Toshio Fukuda is a professor of mechatronics engineering at Meijo University in Nagoya, Japan. He is also a professor at the Beijing Institute of Technology and professor emeritus at Nagoya University. His research focuses on intelligent robotic systems and micro-nano robotics. He has published more than 2,000 articles in scientific journals, conference proceedings, and reports.

An IEEE Fellow, Toshio was director of IEEE Region 10 in 2013 and 2014 and IEEE Division X director/delegate in 2001 and 2002, and 2017 and 2018. He was president of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society in 1988 and 1989 and general chair of the IEEE International Symposium on Micro-Nano Mechatronics from 1990 to 2012. He has served on several IEEE boards and committees.

He graduated from Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan, and received the Master of Engineering degree and the Doctor of Engineering degree, both from the University of Tokyo. He joined the National Mechanical Engineering Laboratory in Japan in 1977, the Science University of Tokyo in 1981, and the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Nagoya University, Japan, in 1989.

2021 IEEE President-Elect

2021 IEEE President-Elect K. J. Ray Liu K. J. Ray Liu  

K. J. Ray Liu is a Distinguished University Professor and Christine Kim Eminent Professor of Information Technology at the University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA. His research contributions encompass broad aspects of signal processing and communications, with a recent focus on AI for wireless sensing and indoor tracking. ​

Over the past decades, he has trained 68 doctoral/postdoctoral students, of which ten are now IEEE Fellows, and most of whom are active members of major universities and successful entrepreneurs/engineers worldwide.

Dr. Liu is the founder and President of Origin Wireless, which pioneers wireless AI for wireless sensing and indoor tracking with over 100 patents filed or granted. The invention of wireless AI won the prestigious 2017 CEATEC Grand Prix and three CES Innovation Awards, including CES Best of Innovation in 2021.

Dr. Liu was the 2019 IEEE Vice President for Technical Activities and a member of the IEEE Board of Directors as Division IX Director in 2016–2017. He has also served as 2012–2013 President of IEEE Signal Processing Society, where he was Vice President for Publications and Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Signal Processing Magazine.

Dr. Liu is a recipient of two IEEE Technical Field Awards: the 2021 IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing and the 2016 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award.

Dr. Liu received the B.S. degree from the National Taiwan University in 1983, and the Ph.D. degree from UCLA in 1990, both in electrical engineering. He is a Fellow of IEEE, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the U.S. National Academy of Inventors.

Executive Director and COO

Executive Director and COO Stephen WelbyStephen Welby

Prior to joining IEEE, Stephen was nominated by the U.S. President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate to serve as the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering. In this role, he served as the chief technology officer for the U.S. Department of Defense, leading one of the largest and most complex research, development, and engineering organizations in the world. Prior to this position, Stephen served as the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Systems Engineering, providing engineering oversight of the department’s programs, establishing technical policy, and managing its technical workforce. 

Stephen has more than 28 years of government and industrial experience in technology and product development, including senior leadership positions at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). His technical experience includes development of leading edge aeronautical and space systems, robotics, machine learning, high-performance software, and sensor systems.

Stephen holds a bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering from The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art, a master’s degree in business administration from the Texas A&M University, and master’s degrees in computer science and applied mathematics from The Johns Hopkins University. He is a fellow of IEEE.